Rugby League World Cup 2017: Papua New Guinea 50-6 Wales

BBC News

Wales were thrashed 50-6 by Papua New Guinea in their opening game of the World Cup in Port Moresby. David Mead scored a hat-trick as the rampant hosts ran in 10 tries, while Regan Grace claimed Wales' only try with the last play of the game. Only the winners of Pool C, which also features Ireland, will qualify for the quarter-finals. Wales, coached by Wakefield boss John Kear, have not won at the World Cup since they beat the Kumuls in 2000. Australia beat England 18-4 in the tournament opener on Friday, while New Zealand are currently playing Samoa in Auckland and Fiji meet the United States in Townsville, Australia at 10:40 GMT.

Police pull over SUV carrying four children that had driven 1,000 kilometers down east coast of Australia

The Japan Times

CANBERRA - Four children aged 10 to 14 packed fishing rods in a parent's SUV, left a farewell note then drove more than 1,000 kilometers (600 miles) down Australia's east coast before they were stopped by police the next day, an officer said Monday. When the children were stopped by police near Grafton in New South Wales state at 10:40 p.m. Sunday, they locked the doors and refused to get out, Acting Police Inspector Darren Williams said. A police officer used a baton to break a window of the Nissan Patrol, that had been reported stolen, Williams said. Police were not sure which child or children drove or why they left Rockhampton in Queensland state Saturday. The children are a 14-year-old boy, two 13-year-old boys and a 10-year-old girl.

Uber class action: taxi and hire-car drivers join lawsuit against company

The Guardian

A class action filed on behalf of thousands of taxi and hire-car drivers against Uber alleges the global rideshare company operated illegally in Australia. Maurice Blackburn Lawyers says more than 6,000 people have joined the action, covering drivers across Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia. It alleges Uber's operations in Australia were illegal because the company knew its drivers were not properly licensed and did not have proper accreditation. "Make no mistake, this will be a landmark case regarding the alleged illegal operations of Uber in Australia and the devastating impact that has had on the lives of hard-working and law-abiding citizens here," Maurice Blackburn's national head of class actions, Andrew Watson, said. "It is not acceptable for a business to place itself above the law and operate illegally to the disadvantage of others."

Australian police search homes linked to NZ mosque gunman

Al Jazeera

Australian police raided two homes linked to the alleged gunman who killed 50 worshippers in two mosques in New Zealand. The homes on Monday were searched in the New South Wales towns of Sandy Beach and Lawrence, both near the town of Grafton where Brenton Tarrant, the alleged attacker, grew up. "The primary aim of the activity is to formally obtain material that may assist New Zealand police in their ongoing investigation," a police statement said. Tarrant's family "continues to assist police with their inquiries" and there is no information to suggest "a current or impending threat" to the community, it said. Tarrant, a self-avowed white supremacist, spent his youth in Grafton but has travelled abroad extensively over the past decade and had lived in recent years in Dunedin, New Zealand.

Alleged Christchurch gunman's actions stun hometown

FOX News

CANBERRA, Australia – Those who watched Brenton Tarrant growing up in the sleepy Australian country town of Grafton say they had no inkling of the potential evil he allegedly unleashed in merciless gunfire at two New Zealand mosques that claimed at least 49 lives. The chief suspect in New Zealand's worst mass shooting in modern history grew up in a modest house in suburban Grafton, a close-knit town of 20,000 on the Clarence River in northern New South Wales state. Jennifer Huxley, an Australian Broadcasting Corp. reporter, went through Grafton High School six years ahead of Tarrant. "I've caught up with some of his classmates and they remember him as a bit of a class clown," Huxley said Saturday. "But staff remember him as a bit of a disruptive student who was prone at times to being quite cruel to his classmates."