Snapchat launches group video calling, @ mention tagging for snaps

Mashable

Snapchat wants the "chat" part of its name to go even further. On Tuesday, the app launched group video chat for up to 16 people at once as it becomes more of a messaging service than just a content platform. The update also includes mentions, or tagging of friends, in Snapchat Stories. SEE ALSO: Snapchat's first-ever TV ad hypes the app's everyday camera possibilities Snapchat's video chat update, rolling out to users globally this week, means that users will have another way to communicate. While not everyone on Snapchat is focused on chat, it's still a core part of the app.


Snapchat adds group video chats and friend tagging

Engadget

Snapchat's evolution from an ephemeral messaging app to a place where you can hang out with all of your friends takes another step today. The app is gaining group video chat, enabling you to hang out with up to 16 of your friends at the same time, or 32 if you switch to voice-only mode. Of course, there are plenty of platforms that will group chat, so Snapchat's USP here is that you can use face lenses at the same time. Consequently, if you're shooting the breeze with your chums, you can do it while vomiting rainbows or with a puppy's ears and nose. The other big addition to Snapchat's platform is Mentions, letting you tag friends in your stories, much like you can do on Twitter or Facebook.


Snapchat Groups will let you chat with 16 friends at once

Engadget

Even though Snapchat has quickly become a huge communication platform, there are still basic features it lacks, like group messaging. With Snapchat Groups, announced today, the app is beginning to fill those gaps. It'll let you start group chats with up to 16 of your Snapchat friends. And, as you'd expect, the conversations will disappear after 24 hour. Recipients will also only be able to view Snaps sent to the group once.


You can now delete Snapchat messages you instantly regret

Mashable

We've all been there: You send a message to a group of friends only to realize how dumb it sounds after the message is sent. Now, Snapchat is going to make it easier for you to go back and quickly delete the message from your conversations in the app. In the past, messages would only self-destruct after everyone in a chat group (whether it was one person or more) read it. Now, following the latest Snapchat update, users can press and hold on a message and select "delete" in any chat. When a message is deleted, other users in the same chat will be notified that a message was deleted.


How To Use Snapchat's New 'Group Stories' Feature

TIME - Tech

Snapchat on Tuesday announced a new feature allowing multiple users to contribute photos and videos to the same "Story," a collection of posts that stay viewable for a limited amount of time. Snapchatters can find the new feature by swiping to the Stories page, tapping the "Create Story" button on the top-right, and naming their group story. Snapchat users can then invite other users by username to add content. Alternatively, Snapchat users can choose to invite only friends or "friends of friends" within a specific geographic area to contribute to a group story. That might be useful for events like weddings and parties.