Goto

Collaborating Authors

Google Privacy Checkup FAQ: How to limit tracking and still use the apps you love

PCWorld

Google may have been caught being less than clear about how, when, and where it tracks your location, but the company isn't actually doing anything about it. Aside from a clearer explanation on its privacy page about what Location History means and doesn't mean, it's business as usual with your Google account. But if Google's tracking treachery rankles you, you can do something about it--and you don't have to delete Google from your life entirely to do so (tempting as that sounds). You might not know it, but you have a surprising amount of control over your Google account, as long as you know where to find all the switches. Here's everything you need to know about Google's privacy settings: where to find them, what you can turn off, and how it all affects your phone.



3 ways to clean up your online history on Facebook, Google and Apple's Safari

USATODAY - Tech Top Stories

Columnist Kim Komando tells you how to clean up your digital tracks on Facebook, Google and elsewhere on the Internet. Your computer stores a huge amount of browsing data, and in places you might never think to look. This meticulous chronology makes you vulnerable to snoops and advertising trackers. Here are three ways to cover your tracks, using two of the biggest services on the Internet. You may be surprised how closely these companies follow you, but you may be even more surprised how much control you have over it.


3 ways to start your year with a digital clean slate

FOX News

File photo: In this photo illustration, a Facebook logo on a computer screen is seen through a magnifying glass held by a woman in Bern May 19, 2012.


Google to delete user location and search data after 18 months

Daily Mail - Science & tech

Google is set to automatically delete user data including their location and search history after 18 months, in a landmark update to its privacy settings. YouTube was also included in the shakeup, and will now start removing users' history data after 36 months. Google said the longer time period was needed to improve the platform's video recommendations. The technology giant's chief executive, Sundar Pichai, announced the change, saying the company believes it should only'keep your information for as long as it's useful and helpful to you'. Previously, users have been required to activate their own data deletion controls and set time limits.