Collaborating Authors

'Pokémon Go' comes to 26 new countries, but server issues keep many from playing


Niantic, Australia-based developer of the planetary hit Pokémon Go, has significantly ramped up the game's global release, launching it in 26 new countries on Saturday. The augmented reality mobile game is now available in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland. Despite gamers' pleas for Niantic to release the game in their respective market, the company may have been a little too eager to launch to so many markets as once. Shortly after launch, many gamers reported on social media that the game is slow to load or even completely unavailable to download. I've managed to play for a couple of minutes in Croatia before the game stopped working; it's still unavailable at the time of this writing, hours after launch.

New Apple Watch OS arrives with ECG app for Europe and HK


Apple has started rolling out watchOS 5.2 to all users, but it's a bigger update for those in Hong Kong and 19 European countries than everyone else. The device's ECG app and irregular heartbeat detection features will come bundled with the update in HK, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, the UK and Switzerland. Apple's ECG app, which first became available in the US in December, needs the electrodes built into the Watch Series 4 model to work. It gives users the power to take an ECG similar to a single-lead electrocardiogram just by firing up the application and touching the device's Digital Crown. This sends an electrical signal to the user's heart and could tell if their rhythm is normal or if they're experiencing irregular heartbeats called atrial fibrillation (AFib).

Your Android device becomes a mini-Xbox on Sept. 15


Project xCloud is almost here. Microsoft's long-hyped entry into the realm of cloud gaming is coming on Sept. 15, starting with Android devices. In practical terms, that means Xbox Game Pass Ultimate subscribers will be able to play more than 100 games on their Android smartphones or tablets. You'll of course need a decently fast internet connection. And the service is limited to just 22 markets around the globe at first – including, according to Microsoft: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Starting on Sept. 15, you'll be able to turn your Android into Xbox.

Facebook Marketplace makes its way to 17 European countries


If you're looking for stuff to buy online, check out Facebook Marketplace -- it might now be available in your country. The social network has expanded the presence of its eBay and Craigslist rival to cover 17 more countries in Europe, namely Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. It's been accessible in the UK for quite some time. So, how is Marketplace better than eBay or Craigslist? Facebook says "you can feel good about buying and selling on Marketplace" since you can check out a seller's or a buyer's profile, see if you have any mutual friends and how old their accounts are.

AI Standards Development


The upcoming meeting of the Joint Technical Committee of International Standards Organisation (ISO) and International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) in Japan will provide the forum for the further development of international AI Standards. SC42 consists of 28 Participating countries and 13 Observing countries from all over the world. Participating countries include Ireland representatives nominated by National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI) and Australia (SA), Austria (ASI), Belgium (NBN), Benin (ANM), Canada (SCC), China (SAC), Denmark (DS), Finland (SFS), France (AFNOR), Italy (UNI), Japan (JISC), Korea, Republic of (KATS), Luxembourg (ILNAS), Malta (MCCAA), Netherlands (NEN), Norway (SN), Russian Federation (GOST R), Singapore, (SSC), Spain (UNE), Sweden (SIS), Switzerland (SNV), Uganda (UNBS), United Kingdom (BSI) and United States (ANSI). Standardisation has been a driving factor in the creation of the European Unions Digital Single Market. European standards help to eliminate technical barriers to trade contributed to the implementation of European legislation and the development of sustainable industrial policy.