Fields Medal Is Stolen Minutes After It's Given in Brazil

NYT > Middle East 

Dr. Birkar is Cambridge University's 11th Fields medalist. "This is absolutely phenomenal, both for Caucher and for mathematics at Cambridge," said Professor Gabriel Paternain, head of the university's department of pure mathematics and mathematical statistics. "Caucher was already an exceptional young researcher when he came to Cambridge, and he's now one of the most remarkable people in this field." The other three winners of the 2018 Fields Medal are Alessio Figalli, of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich; Peter Scholze from the University of Bonn; and Akshay Venkatesh, of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton and Stanford University in California. In addition to the medal, each receives an $11,500 cash prize.

Duplicate Docs Excel Report

None found

Similar Docs  Excel Report  more

None found