PEN America announces new Mike Nichols literary award; Kenneth Lonergan named inaugural winner

Los Angeles Times 

The nonprofit literary organization PEN America announced on Monday the creation of the PEN/Mike Nichols Writing for Performance Award, with playwright and screenwriter Kenneth Lonergan named as the inaugural winner. The award, which comes with a $25,000 cash prize, is named in honor of Mike Nichols, the legendary comedian and director known for films such as "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?," "The Graduate," "Silkwood" and "Postcards From the Edge." Nichols died in 2014, and is survived by his wife, journalist Diane Sawyer. Lonergan is an acclaimed playwright and screenwriter. His plays "This Is Our Youth" and "Lobby Hero" were both nominated for Drama Desk Awards for best play.

  Country: North America > United States > Virginia (0.36)

Duplicate Docs Excel Report

None found

Similar Docs  Excel Report  more

None found