ACM Awards Honor CS Contributions

Communications of the ACM 

In this issue of Communications, as evidenced by the cover and lead article, we celebrate the latest recipients of the ACM A.M. Turing Award. Yoshua Bengio, Yann LeCun, and Geoffrey Hinton carried out pioneering work in deep learning that has touched all our lives. As Turing Laureates, they now join the eminent group of technology visionaries recognized with the world's highest distinction in computing. The Turing Award is one of a suite of professional honors ACM bestows annually to recognize technical achievements that have made significant contributions to our field. This month, I will have the pleasure of joining the awardees, ACM Fellows, and other luminaries in San Francisco for the ACM Awards Banquet.